Government Responses


(Please note that this page is best viewed on a desktop.)



On May 18, 2020, Governor David Ige unveiled the State of Hawaii's Roadmap to Recovery and Resilience plan.  The plan is based on a continuum of four phases, beginning with Stabilization (Phase 1), then Reopening (Phase 2), then Long-Term Recovery (Phase 3), and finally Resilience (Phase 4). 



















The Governor's prior orders, namely the "Stay at Home" order and "Safer at Home" order, were part of the Stabilization phase of the plan.  Governor Ige announced that Hawaii's progress in battling the SARS-CoV-2 outbreak warrants moving into Phase 2: Reopening in June. 





















In the Act with Care phase (described in the Eighth Supplementary Proclamation Related to the COVID-19 Emergency
"Eighth Proclamation")), "medium risk" businesses will be reopened, followed by "high-risk businesses."  A breakdown of those businesses and how and when they may reopen is described on this slide of the Governor's presentation.




















Governor Ige explained that each county Mayor, in consultation with him and his staff, will determine the details and timing of the reopening phase in their counties.  The plan requires that each step in the phase have a minimum 14-day observation period in order to assess the impact of the reopening measures.  If a disease spike occurs, the State may move backward on the continuum of phases.

The Governor's full May 18, 2020 slide presentation is available here.

In the Thirteenth Proclamation (see below), Governor Ige created an exception to the mandatory 14-day self-quarantine for travelers coming to Hawaii.  Effective on October 15, 2020, travelers may be exempted from the quarantine if, upon entry into the State, they provide written confirmation from a State-approved COVID-19 testing facility of a negative test result from a test administered to the traveler within 72 hours from the final leg of their departure. The Thirteenth Proclamation allows counties to opt-out of the exception.  It also allowed counties to create "Enhanced Movement Quarantine" within resort areas, creating "bubbles" for visitors to the islands.  The Thirteenth Proclamation extended the Emergency Relief period through October 31, 2020.

Through the Fourteenth Proclamation (see below), Governor Ige extended the Emergency Relief period through November 30, 2020.

In the Fifteenth Proclamation, which was issued on November 16, 2020, Governor Ige extended the Emergency Relief period through December 31, 2020. The Fifteen Proclamation extends and clarifies the statewide mask mandate.  It states: 

All persons in the State shall wear a face covering over their nose and mouth when in public. The requirements of this statewide mask mandate are set forth in Exhibit J, which will be enforced in each county.

All persons shall comply with applicable safety, hygiene and physical distancing guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as well as with State, county, industry and regulatory practices for safety, hygiene and physical distancing, including standards and requirements adopted and issued by Hawaii Department of Health (DOH).

The proclamation also specifies that: “An owner or operator of any business or operation shall refuse admission or service to any individual who fails to wear a face covering, unless an exception applies under this section.” Those that do not may be subject to enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure.

The Fifteenth Proclamation also extends the moratorium on evictions for non-payment of rent until this proclamation expires on Dec. 31, 2020.

Act with Care Order  

  • Work in Business or Operations. During the Emergency Relief period, essential businesses may operate; those businesses include those that are part of the federal critical infrastructure sectors, including essential workers supporting the 2020 Census, as identified by the U.S. Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency, and the businesses or operations operating in each county in accordance with the State Roadmap to Recovery and Resilience, referenced in Exhibit E of the Fourteenth Proclamation by Governor Ige. Businesses include for-profit, non-profit, or educational entities, regardless of the nature of the service, the function they perform, or their corporate or entity structure. 

  • Safe Practices.  All persons must wear face coverings in compliance with county orders, rules and directives approved by Governor Ige. All persons must comply with applicable hygiene and physical distancing guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as well as State, county, industry and regulatory requirements for safe hygiene and physical distancing practices to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, including standards adopted by and requirements issued by Hawaii Department of Health (DOH).

  • Penalty for Non-Compliance.  Failure to comply with the order is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $5,000, or up to a year in jail, or both.

Mandatory Self-Quarantine Order for Visitors Traveling to the State

Emergency Proclamations by Governor David Ige:



To understand the status of the reopening process in each county of Hawaii and specific restrictions for each business and activity, please refer to the latest proclamation or order from the county Mayors, which are set forth below.


 Emergency Orders by Mayor Kirk Caldwell:


Emergency Orders by Mayor Michael Victorino:


Emergency Orders by Mayor Derek Kawakami:


Proclamations and Orders by Mayor Harry Kim:

Last update: 11/10/20

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle

©2018 by Farm Benedict Sugihara

A Limited Liability Law Partnership LLP

700 Bishop St, Ste 1601

Honolulu, HI  96813